top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SHE'S ONE OF OUR OWN: spotlight on Andrea!

Over the next few weeks, we want to introduce you to the members of our OAFC HGT Team so you know why we love our club so much and want to make productive changes so that a trip to BP is a comfortable and positive experience for everyone!


Name: Andrea Wilkes


A bit about you?


So when you're asked to write an intro about yourself, is it normal to think what the heck am I going to write? Well here goes...I was born a stones throw away from BP in the mid 70's, I suppose you could say I was born a 'Latic'.


I've never had an interest in the likes of City or United. I've just never seen the appeal. I read somewhere that your team chooses you and I've always thought that's true.


Andrea at the last away game in York.


Growing up in the mid 80's, just off Garforth Street in Chadderton, my earliest and most fondest memories of watching Oldham was during the Royle years.


I remember being sneaked into the Chaddy end, occasionally by one of the groundsmen. is name was Harry. I can't for the life of me remember his surname, but I bet I could pick him out of a line up!


He'd always get us the players and Joe's autographs on the back of envelopes too. Growing up, we thought they were gods.


I remember Paul Warhurst and Andy Ritchie being my favourite players and the crowds chanting "Ooh Roger Palmer!!" Those days were magical!


I recall standing on the steps of the Civic Hall with a bunch of mates all cheering on the open top bus when they paraded around the town despite losing the Littlewoods Cup in 1990 - we were all still so proud of the lads! That is my most favourite Latics memory.


Unfortunately last seasons final result will live on as my worst Latics memory, falling out of the EFL after 100+years.


New beginnings, Andrea and her son Matthew with new owner Frank Rothwell.


I attend the games with my husband John. He's been a Latics fan since 1988. Him and his mate Lee Bennett (some may remember Lee, he stormed the pitch during the Royle era and ended up on the front page of the Oldham Evening Chronicle.) They would religiously go to games and it was just a matter of time before he would bring our youngest son Matthew along.


Andrea with her husband John and son Matthew.


I currently work down the road at a wholesalers as a membership/marketing representative. I've been there almost 21 years and it's taken that long to finally be able to get every Saturday off so I can come back to supporting the lads on the pitch!


I also crochet in my spare time and have a Facebook page 'The Crochet Attic', which is where you'll find my crafty corner! I enjoy creating soft toys, many can be seen on my page.


One of Andreas Creations. To see more of Andrea’s work you can find her on Facebook “The Crochet Attic”.


I like music, especially Texas and Dolly Parton, and I dabble growing veg which I'm too scared to eat.


What’s it like being involved with Her Game Too?


I joined Her Game Too as a way to meet other women at BP. Even though I'm usually with my son and husband, its nice to get to know other women and other supporters too.


Andrea with some of the Her Game Too team.


There's a few familiar faces I see around the ground these days and it feels more like a football family!


We really do have the best fans around!! I adore the Athleticos! They amaze me and remind me of my younger days at Boundary Park!

95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page