top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SHE’S ONE OF OUR OWN: spotlight on - Holly Madden

On Saturday 4th March, Oldham Athletic held a dedicated fixture to #HerGameToo for International Womens Day. We was able to offer a fan the opportunity to shadow our Latics Reporter Suzanne Geldard in the press box all day!


We offered the opportunity on a FCFS basis and Holly was the lucky fan! We caught up with Holly to tell us a little bit about her & talk about the day!


Name: Holly Madden


Club: Oldham Athletic


How long supporting Oldham?


I attended my first Oldham match when I was 2 years old in October 2007. I had my first season ticket when I was 7 and have done ever since.


Favourite memory?


Fulham away in 2019. I went to this match with my mum, gran, grandad, cousins, aunties and uncles. We travelled to this match hoping not to get a hammering. The atmosphere created by the oldham fans was amazing. To come away with a win against a Premier League team and the scenes at full time was something I’ll never forget.


Holly with her cousins 4 years ago at Fulham Away


Worst memory?


There’s a few to choose from!


Relegation at Northampton was hard to take as before the match I believed we’d stay up as all we had to do was match or better Rochdale. And I felt our team were too good to be relegated.


Last season the combination of Forest Green away and Salford at home. I travelled to Forest Green and realised after watching that match that we were going to be relegated. The Salford match was the final drawn out confirmation.


Holly & her mum making the 256 mile round trip supporting Oldham


How did you feel when Frank Rothwell & family took over the club?


The Takeover was a brilliant day. After the despair of relegation and thinking the Lemsagams would never leave I was so happy to hear we were getting a new owner.


I went to Boundary Park, along with lots of other fans and it was amazing! I loved standing listening to Frank singing and speaking passionately about the club’s future while fans were popping open bottles of champagne. Frank and his family have saved our club. It’s fantastic to know we now have owners who want the best for our club and will obviously do everything they can to bring us success.


Holly & her family thrilled with the takeover


Do you have a Favourite player?


My favourite player is Peter Clarke as he is an absolute legend, a complete professional and has always given his 100% to the club.


He obviously loves Oldham Athletic and even when playing for other clubs acknowledges the Oldham fans. I’ve met him a few times and he’s always been very friendly and appreciative of Oldham fans.


Holly with her Favourite player and Oldham Legend, Peter Clarke


How was shadowing Suzanne?


I really enjoyed the opportunity to shadow Suzanne during Oldham Athletic vs Boreham Wood. It was really interesting to hear about how Suzanne got into journalism and working at Oldham. It was a privilege to sit with Suzanne in the press box at the back of the Main Stand and watch the match from a different viewpoint.


I was able to watch Suzanne carry out all her match day duties such as putting out team sheets, the live blog and post match interviews. It was inspirational to work alongside a female football journalist and be able to talk to her about her job and her experiences travelling to different clubs. I was also able to meet some of the media team and see what goes on behind the scenes on a match day.


What did you learn?


This opportunity gave me a valuable insight into what it is to be a football journalist, as well as seeing the wider media team and how they all operate on a match day.


Favourite part of the day?


I enjoyed the whole day but particularly felt very lucky to be able to watch the post match interview with David Unsworth. I always watch the post match interviews on the website and read Suzanne Geldard’s post match reports so it was really interesting to be able to shadow Suzanne at this interview.


I also loved getting to meet the players as they were leaving, especially my favourite player Peter Clarke.


Holly with Suzanne & the Her Game Too team at latics.


What do you think of Her Game Too at Oldham Athletic?


As a female Oldham fan who was introduced to being a fan by my mum, attends matches with my mum, gran and sister and having introduced my 4 younger female cousins to supporting the club, I feel the Her Game Too movement at Oldham Athletic is very important.


The Her Game Too team are promoting an extremely important message that girls and women are welcome to watch, play, volunteer and enjoy football at Boundary Park. The Her Game Too team are doing an amazing job at Oldham. They are regularly visible around the club on match days and on social media promoting the ethos that girls and women are welcomed equally at Oldham Athletic.


Yesterday was an amazing celebration of the Her Game Too movement. It was brilliant to see our own Oldham Athletic Her game Too advocates leading the girls and ladies football teams around the pitch at half time and it was particularly special to see my 3 younger cousins involved in this.


I feel privileged to have taken part in this special day. I’d like to thank Suzanne Geldard and Alison Schofield for this opportunity.


Holly and her family supporting Franks Flat cap army, the first game of the season.

267 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page