top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SPOTLIGHT ON : BARNET FAN - CARLA DEVINE

Before every home game, the OAFC Her Game Too team interview a female visiting fan or employee.


Today we have had the pleasure of interviewing Barnet Fan, Carla before welcoming to BP later today.


Name - Carla Devine


Team - Barnet


Can you tell us something special about your hometown that we may not know?


Barnet isn’t actually my hometown but given I’m representing the team it seems right to give you something special from there. I believe that Barnet church is the highest point between Barnet and York which is pretty cool!


All smiles for the new season repping a retro shirt


How far have you travelled to watch your team?


I’m originally from Leeds so travelling to home games are bad enough at a 400 mile round trip! But I’d probably have to say doing Exeter away from Leeds is the longest trip I’ve done.


What got you in to football ?


My parents are to blame! They took me to my first game (Blackpool away with Barnet) at 16 months old so I’ve just grown up going and fallen in love. What I do find special about Barnet though is the connections with other fans and the players that you can form at a lower level.


Favourite memory as a fan ?


Ooh that’s a tough one. It would probably be our last game at Underhill because we won the game, with a penalty save in there too, which saved us from relegation for another week. The game had everything and it was a very special day. I’ve also got to mention winning the conference in 2014/15 and playing Sheffield United away in the FA Cup in 2019 though.


Happy to be back on an away day at Maidenhead last season


Predictions for this season for your team ?


For me this season has always been about consistency and building so going into it I’d have said 12th-15th. Looking at some of the football we’ve played so far I’d say we have quality in us to push the playoffs but I’m not sure if we’re strong enough throughout the pitch yet to do that. Saying that, it’s so tight in this league a few good results can get you up there!


Player for us to look out for?


He’s only signed for us recently so not played many games yet but I’m going to say Idris Kanu. He’s already scored 4 goals and he has some real quality in him. It looks like he’s got an intelligent football brain too.


Predictions for todays game?


I have to back us so I’m gonna go confident and say 3-1, hopefully that doesn’t come back to bite me!


What would you say to any women and girls who are thinking about getting into football playing/fan?


Honestly just do it. It would be naive to say that there’s no prejudices or barriers in our way anymore but there’s certainly a lot less than there was and the more we continue to make it the norm, the more it will become the case for future generations. Football at its core is about fun and enjoyment and as long as that is there, nothing else matters. Women belong in football just as much as men, it’s our game too.


First pre-season after covid. Away at Hitchin, a long drive from Leeds

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page