top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SPOTLIGHT ON : GATESHEAD FAN - SUZANNE MCGUIGAN

Before every home game, the OAFC Her Game Too team interview a female visiting fan or employee.


We have had the pleasure of interviewing Gateshead fan, Suzanne before welcoming them to Boundary Park tonight.


Name – Suzanne McGuigan

Team – Gateshead FC

 

Can you tell us something special about your hometown that we may not know?


Gateshead has a few cool literary connections -Daniel Dafoe wrote his notes for Robinson Crusoe while living here and Lewis Carroll wrote some of his Alice adventures whilst staying here too.

 

How far have you travelled to watch your team?


I’ve travelled to Wembley for the National League play off in 2014, a rather epic back journey on a Sunday night when I had to work the next day. Gutted and tired - not a great combination.

 

What got you in to football ?


I’m blaming my dad! He was a Gateshead fan as boy and used to watch them at their old ground, Redheugh Park, I went to my first game in 1993, a thrilling 0-0 against Stafford Rangers and I was hooked.


Suzanne and her dad at the playoff final at Wembley


Favourite memory as a fan ?


The success of last season was amazing, though I didn’t get to go to many games since having my daughter. I can’t wait to take her to a game but she’s just too little at the moment. I loved the Ian Bogie era, seeing back-to-backpromotions in 2007-2009 was amazing, we became a full-time club during his time and became a top tier non-league club with ambitions of being back in the football league.

 

Predictions for this season for your team ?


We’ve not had the best season so far so staying up has got to be the main focus.

 

Player for us to look out for?


Our captain Greg Olley, he really should be playing at a higher level, but he loves the club so has stayed with us through thick and thin.

 

Predictions for today’s game?


I really should be positive, so I am going to say 2-1 to Gateshead.


 Suzanne on the final day of the season when they were champions


What would you say to any women and girls who are thinking about getting into football playing/fan?


Go for it, it’s changed so much since I first started going, I remember going to a game and there wasn’t a female toilet! It’s definitely more inclusive now and more welcoming. You meet so many different people going to games. I’ve made some really good friends through the club. There’s lots of opportunities to get involved with the running of the clubs.  I love non-league - its proper football with proper fans.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page