top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SPOTLIGHT ON: NOTTS COUNTY FAN AND PLAYER - ELLIE ALVEY

Before every home game, the OAFC Her Game Too team interview a visiting female fan, player or employee.


Today we caught up with Ellie, a Notts County fan and player!


Name: Ellie Alvey


Team: Notts County


Can you tell us something about Notts County we may not know?


In 1903, we inspired Juventus to change their kit to black and white after Savage had a friend based in Nottingham - naturally a Notts County fan - who then sent black and white striped shirts to the Italian team.



How far have you travelled to watch your team?


I don't travel often, for multiple reasons, however the furthest I have is Scunthorpe this season when we won 4-1, but we are trying to plan some more later in the season.


Favourite memory as a fan?


Favourite memory as a fan, for England would be watching the lionesses win the euros And for notts it would probably be meeting players after the game and getting them to sign a ball. As I'm too young to have seen notts win any trophy.


Worst memory as a fan?


Worst memory as a fan would be getting relegated out of the football for the first time in our history in 2019 and losing in the play off final in 2020


How did you get into playing football and do you have a favourite memory playing?


I have always been surrounded by football when I was growing up. I began playing in parks and my garden when I was around 8 or 9. I then found a local team at the age of 10 and also joined with my school team for the last year in primary.


My favourite memory would be scoring my first hatrick and celebrating with my friends after.

The main setback I have faced is confidence in my self however supportive teammates and coaches help me improve confidence a believe in my self and my ability.



Did you face any setbacks when becoming a footballer?


Often online I have seen people have say that girls can't play football and we will never be successful however no one has told me anything to my face.


I have heard a bit about Her Game Too campaign and I think it's necessary to help improve women and girls football across social media.


Predictions for Notts County this season?


My predictions for Notts this season is for us to get promoted.


I think the coaches and the squad we have this season are the strongest we've had since we came down and I think we stand a great chance of winning the league this year however, I think it will be a very close competitive battle between us and Wrexham with Chesterfield staying not too far behind us.



Any players for us to watch out for?


There are quite a few players you should watch out for, the obvious being the league's top goal scorer Macaulay Langstaff. Ruben Rodrigues is an outstanding player and new signing John Bostock looks solid in the middle of the park and he controls the game very well.


Prediction for today's game?


My predictions for today's game - due to the way Notts play and our current form - I think Oldham will struggle, depending on how they set up it may change the way Notts play and how long it takes to create an opening.


Do you have any thoughts on the Lionesses and the recent World Cup?


I think Sarina Wiegman is a fantastic manger, and I think the girls were amazing throughout the whole tournament and I'm looking forward to the World Cup next year.


I think England in the World Cup were great. we were slightly unlucky against France with the ref not having the best of games.


Our stand out player for me at the world cup was Jude Bellingham - he is an incredible talent for his age.


What would you say to women or girls who or thinking of playing, supporting or working in football?


One thing I'd say to any women or girls wanting to get into football, either playing supporting or working, I'd say absolutely go for it and don't listen to the people to try to put you off or change your mind.



Do you have any other interests or hobbies outside of football?


I don't do too much other than football however I do like enjoy taking photos of multiple things and editing them when I have the time.

236 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page