top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SPOTLIGHT ON - SHERIDAN ROBINS : YEOVIL TOWN FAN & COMMENTATOR!

Before every home game, the OAFC Her Game Too team interview a female visiting fan or employee.


Tomorrow, Latics welcome Yeovil Town to Boundary Park. We have a great treat in store as we have been fortunate enough to speak to Yeovil Fan and commentator, Sheridan Robins. We hope you enjoy!


Name: Sheridan Robins

Team: Yeovil Town

Can you tell us something special about Yeovil that we may not already know?


Yeovil hold the record for knocking out the most football league teams in the FA Cup as a non-league club. Last season’s 1-0 win over Stevenage in the FA Cup second round was the 21st victory against league opposition. That is truly special, and the FA Cup is such a great competition that has a place in all our hearts. It feels like our competition in those early rounds.

How far have you travelled to watch your team?


I don’t miss many games now I cover the team for BBC Somerset but even as a fan I travelled across the country. I have been to Carlisle, Hartlepool and even Middlesbrough (on a cold Tuesday night!) This season, we will have the long old trip to Gateshead to contend with.

Sheridan at work showing it's Her Game Too.


Favourite memory as a fan?


I think it has to be promotion to the Championship in 2013. It truly was a dream. I actually enjoyed the play off semi-final second leg - against Sheffield United - more than the final. We were 1-0 down from the away leg, it was gloriously sunny, and we just knew it was our day. We won the game 2-0 and scored in the opening and closing five minutes. Huish Park was rocking, and I will never forget it.


Predictions for today's game?

Tough one for both sides. I am going to go 1-1.


Which player(s) should we be looking out for?


Lawson D’Ath has now returned from injury and is a classy footballer whose individual skill and reading of the game is second to none. Jamie Reckord has been a revelation at left wing back, too. His experience defensively and attacking mindset allows us to take some risks going forward. It is something we need to do more of.


Predictions this season for your team?


Unfortunately, I fear we are set for another midtable season in the National League. Our budget is not enough to compete with the top end of the division. At the time of writing, we have drawn six of the opening 10 games. I hope we can turn those into wins very soon. It would be nice to have something to push for.

Sheridan behind the scenes interviewing.


How did you get into commentating and what's your favourite or funniest moment(s)?


I sort of fell into it really. I am a trained journalist, and I also started doing some interviews about Yeovil as I would go to matches every week. I then did some summarising before being asked to be lead commentator. I have learnt on the job but am now in my second full season and loving it!


My favourite moment was last season in the FA Cup fourth round qualifying against our biggest rivals Weymouth. The replay was at their place, and it was 1-1 and Yeovil had missed a 120th minute penalty. It went to penalties and was quite possibly the worst penalty shoot-out I have ever seen. Yeovil won 2-1 and it was so emotional. I had midfielder Lawson D’Ath alongside me in the commentary box and he was just a joy because he so wanted us to win. He even swore live on air and had to apologise – it was quite an evening!


Being a commentator in a male dominated environment, have you ever experienced prejudice because of your gender?


I would be lying if I said I hadn’t and I sometimes still do. However, the positives have outweighed that. There is no doubt it is male dominated but I feel I have earnt my place and am now judged on the quality of my work – not my gender. I do think we have a long way to go, but I have seen improvements in the reaction to my work over the past two years. I do wish people would act less surprised when I turn up with all the kit, though!


Sheridan 2 seasons in loving her job.


Do you have any hobbies or interests outside of sports?


I studied drama at university, so going to the theatre is one of my favourite things to do. I wish I had more time to go see shows, but I do my best in the off season to get to plays and musicals. More often than not, I am listening to a show soundtrack on my phone!


And finally, what would you say to other women and girls who maybe thinking about being into football either playing, supporting or working?


I would say do it if you love it. I feel sad that I never got the chance to play as a child and if I was growing up now, I know I would be pushing to play. I first went to football with my Grandma and that made it so special. Be prepared, though! Once you find your team – you are set for life. I never thought my hobby would become my work!




60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page