top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SPOTLIGHT ON : HANNAH GARLAND - MAIDSTONE UTD PLAYER & FAN

The OAFC Her Game Too team speak to an away fan before all of our home games.


This week, we chatted to Maidstone fan Hannah who also plays for Maidstone United Women.


Name - Hannah Garland


Age -27

Position - Left Back or Defensive Mid


How long have you been playing football?


4 Years


When did you join Maidstone?


This season (22/23)


What's your favourite thing about playing for Maidstone?


What I really enjoy about playing for Maidstone is playing for the team I support and alongside a supportive team. Being able to play home games at the Gallagher is a nice bonus too!


What do you think about the growing interest in women's football?


I think it's great! The Women's Euros competition last year had a positive impact on people's perceptions of women's football. The England Lionesses' win was such an inspiration to everyone and especially for girls wanting to get into football.


Do you suffer any negativity when playing football?


Not really. I go out onto the pitch to enjoy myself and play for my team. If there's negativity within the team, that can definitely affect play so it's important to keep encouraging each other during games and training.


Do you support a men's football team?


I support Maidstone United (locally) and Liverpool.


Where do you think MUFC will end up in the league this season?


20th


What do you think of the Her Game Too movement and do you think it is necessary?


I think the Her Game Too campaign is necessary as it highlights the message that football is for women & girls too. There wasn't much support for girls to get into football when I was younger and I was often told "it's a boys sport", so I think it's really important that we feel confident sharing our opinion about football, playing and supporting teams without fear of sexist comments. Hopefully with continued promotion of the movement, there will be more acceptance of women and girls in the game.


82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page