top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SHE'S ONE OF OUR OWN: spotlight on Su Schofield

To mark International Women's Day, the OAFC HGT Team were delighted to speak to Su, daughter of our very own Frank Rothwell, to find out more about her role at the club.


Over to you, Su. Thanks for speaking to us!


As an introduction I am Su Schofield, I joined my dad, Frank Rothwell, in the family business after leaving University, my brother Luke following a couple of years later. As dad started to take a back seat, Luke and I have been running the many family businesses for a number of years. Within these businesses I oversee the accounts, and also manage our property portfolio. I am a proud wife of Jimmy and full-time working mum of one, Little Frank.

 

Can you tell us your job title at Latics and explain what the role entails?


I am Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Director of the Board. As a Board we have said from the start the first year is about stability, and we, the Management Team have been working incredibly hard behind the scenes to stabilise and amalgamate all the businesses which operate within Boundary Park.

 

How have you found working at the club so far? Have you felt welcomed by our fans?


There have been times where it is stressful but incredibly rewarding. I like to see the incremental changes throughout the businesses and Boundary Park on a day by day and match by match basis. All the fans I have met have been very welcoming to me and my family.

 

Would you describe yourself as a football fan?


I was a season ticket holder at Latics for a couple of years with school friends. There’s no getting away from football in our house it’s always on the TV or being talked about! Little Frank, my own mini Stato said to me the week the purchase went through ‘Mummy you really must get interested in football if you want to stay in this family!’ I may have taken it a bit too far!!!

 

How did you feel when your dad told you he was buying the club?


It was a family decision-we are a family who holiday, play and work hard together. We felt like it was the right thing to do for the club and Oldham, the town we love, live and work in.

 

What do you make of our performance on the pitch so far this season? Where do you think we will finish in the league?


It’s been a bit of a roller coaster! Our primary focus for this season was to stabilise and finish mid table, and I think we will meet or beat our expectations.

 

What do you think about Her Game Too and it’s place within football/sport in general? Do you think it is necessary for such a group to exist?


I am about full inclusivity and integration. In an ideal world there would only be need for one supporters group, however, sometimes voices get drowned out and so it is good to have different groups with different priorities- as long as there is one common goal- to win on the pitch! 


 Su with the all the Her Game Too team


How do you find being a woman working in a typically male dominated industry?


It’s actually my normal, as long as someone works hard I am happy to work with them.

 

What advice would you give to females thinking about working within a typically male dominated industry?


Every person is there on their own merits, just make sure you are heard. And vice versa, the same could be said for a male working within a typical female industry. You have chosen to work there.

 

What has been your favourite moment so far (on or off the pitch) since joining Latics?


There are so many. Every win- they really matter! The walk down Sheepfoot Lane before the first home game of the season was really special. 

 

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page