top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHer Game Too OAFC null

SPOTLIGHT ON: SIOBHAN, huge football fan & volunteer!


As the football season is now underway, we caught up with Siobhan, a Manchesther United Fan who has a soft spot for other teams.


What’s your earliest memory of being a football fan?


As a child, I remember playing Subbuteo with my brother, and collecting Panini stickers. I also remember being in Amsterdam on a family holiday when Ajax won the Eredivisie in 1985, which was my first experience of passionate football fans! As an adult, I was lucky enough to have access to tickets to Manchester United through my job in Publicity at the Hacienda, and a love affair was born.


Favourite memory as a football fan?


The Treble in 1999. I remember that last minute goal going in, dropping my phone in my pint, and then rushing out to St Peters Square in Manchester to celebrate with what felt like the whole of Manchester! Also, the first game I took my son to was magical, especially as he was quite late to fall in love with the game.


Siobhan with her son on the way to the United U21s at Old Trafford.


You support Manchester United FC - how did you end up travelling to watch other football teams?


This season, I have been to a lot of games that may seem random to an outsider - Altrincham, Stockport, Accrington Stanley and Birmingham City to name a few. However, there is one thing that binds them all, and that's the fact that they all had, or played teams who had, Manchester United Academy loanees playing for them. So, we saw Charlie McNeill play for Newport County, Hannibal play for Birmingham City, Charlie Savage play for Forest Green Rovers and Joe Hugill and Maxi Oyedele play for Altrincham. We spend a lot of time following the Academy team, away and at home at Leigh Sports Village. We also go to as many Glossop North End (my local team) away games as possible.

Fun fact about your football team that we may not know?


Everyone knows everything about Manchester United, so I'll give you a fact about Glossop North End instead - they are the smallest town to have had a team play in the English top flight!


Furthest away game you have attended?


I don't know if this counts as it wasn't strictly an "away" game, but we recently saw CS Maritimo play against Pacos de Ferreira in Madeira! A great relegation battle to watch, with a brilliant fan zone and fantastic atmosphere. I'm looking forward to the away day at Isle of Man with Glossop North End this season!


Rotherham v Cardiff, Siobhan and family went to support Leo Hjelde as they got into Norwegian football by watching Isak Hansen-Aarøen play for the United Academy.


How often do you travel for away games?


I can't get away tickets for Manchester United unfortunately due to the hoops you have to jump through to be eligible, but we travel over to Rotherham a lot due to developing a love for them when they played against Birmingham City - Viktor Johanssen, Chio Ogbene, Jordan Hugill and Leo Hjelde were standouts for us. And as I said, we also travel to away games for the United Academy loanees when they're playing against teams in the North West, and Glossop North End when we can.

 

How did you get into working at glossop north end? Any tips for anyone who may want to work in football?


I work at Glossop North End, updating their social media and writing match previews.


 I got into doing this through working in marketing for over 20 years. I mainly worked in music marketing but wanted to get more into football, so I just asked GNE if they needed any help with marketing and started that in October 2022.


As I said before, I just asked one of the other volunteers, and kept pursuing it. Volunteer roles for non-league clubs are posted on the Pitching In website, as well as LinkedIn and across social media. Keep an open mind as to what you might want to do, as working on the turnstile or selling programmes is a good way to get your foot in the door and get a role more suited to your skillset if you want to do something different at the club but the role isn't currently available.


Do you have aspirations to work within a professional football club?


Absolutely. I would love to work for a team like Salford City who have a fantastic social media presence, or of course my beloved Manchester United, although I assume those jobs are like gold dust!


Siobhan with her Husband Mike, before watching Manchester United v Crystal Palace.



What you think about the blog the HerGameToo team run at OAFC? Anything you would like to see us cover this season?


I think it's great to have Her Game Too represented like this. I'd love to see interviews with some of the Lionesses, as well as up and coming players like United's Womens Under 21s captain, Bella Reidford.


I am also now a Club Advocate for Manchester United, working alongside the Ambassador Priya, and can't wait to get started!


I'm looking forward to seeing even more clubs partner with Her Game Too.

The World Cup Final is Sunday, what are your predictions?


I'm hoping for an England win, although Spain are a great side, and ex Red Ona Battle will put up a battle! I'll be watching at the National Football Museum with lots of other families.


Watching the Lionesses during Euro 2022 at Old Trafford


Finally, what would you say to any women and girls who are thinking about getting into football playing/fan?


I would say just go for it, ignore any preconceptions you might have and go and watch a game. I have found that the Womens and Youth games tend to be more accessible to a first timer, but so many women watch football now that you will not be in the minority at all. In terms of playing, depending on your age you can look up the Squad Girls and Just Play programmes to see if there is one in your area.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page